Osun @ 30: Renowned Journalist and Biographer, Mike Awoyinfa bags State ‘Distinguished Citizen Award’

Spread the love

The father of tabloid journalism in Nigeria, Mr Mike Ajibola Awoyinfa, was on Thursday 23 September honoured with the Osun Distinguished Citizen Award as the state marks the 30th anniversary of her creation.

Awoyinfa who has contributed tremendously to the growth and development of print journalism in Nigeria received the award along with 27 other eminent personalities honoured by the government of Osun.

Born in Ijebu-Jesa, Oriade local government area of Osun State, Mike Awoyinfa is a man of many firsts. He was the pioneer editor of Weekend Concord, Nigeria’s first Saturday newspaper. From Weekend Concord, he went to pioneer The Sun newspaper as the paper’s first Editor-in-Chief and Managing Director. He turned The Sun into an instant success.

After retirement, the prolific writer went fully into biographies and corporate books alongside his late friend, Dimgba Igwe. They co-founded Entertainment Express newspaper in 2011 while focusing on their corporate books on biographies.

Some of his literary works include The Art of Features, 50 World Editors, 50 Nigeria’s Corporate Strategists, Nigeria’s Marketing Memoirs, Conversation with Journalism Masters on Trends and Best Practices and 50 Nigeria’s Boardroom Leaders. Most of them were co-authored with his late friend, Dimgba Igwe.

The Distinguished Citizen Award was presented to Mike Awoyinfa who was flanked by his amiable wife, Mrs Bukola Awoyinfa, the Elegboro of Ijebu-Jesa, Owaloko of Iloko-Ijesa, Olodogo of Odogo-Ijesa and other distinguished individuals.

The colourful event which was anchored by the trio of Bisi Olatilo, Bukola Aderibigbe, and Adeoye Bakare held at the WOCDIF Event Centre, Osogbo had in attendance creme of the society including the Alaafin of Oyo, HIM Oba Lamidi Adeyemi, Owa Obokun of Ijesaland, HIM Oba (Dr.) Gabriel Adekunle Aromolaran, LLB, CFR, Elegboro of Ijebu-Jesa, HRM Oba (Engr.) Moses Oluwafemi Agunsoye and a host of other notable traditional rulers.

Also in attendance were the Ondo State Governor, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu, representatives of Lagos and Ogun State Governors, three former governors of Osun State, Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon Timothy Owoeye, Former Deputy Speaker of House of Representatives, Hon Lasun Yusuf, Senator Iyiola Omisore among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *